Matlock Farm
Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing public photos from Beltedweir. Make your own badge here.

Monday, Aug. 13, 2007 - 7:54 a.m.

We have pulled everything (for the most part) from my grandparents house. Amazing that until last week, so little had changed in that house since I can remember. A table or a rug, but for the most part, old things stayed and new things were added. But the house was looking tired. Paint peeling and plaster falling. The house needs someone to come in and love it.

We also cleaned out the attic of another family house that is going to be sold. I have loved that house since I was young. My Grandmother used to take me there to visit "Cousin" Bertha and Kitty Chapin. Wild old Victorian done to the hilt complete with two stained glass windows. There were something like twenty trunks in the attic. All sorts of crap, but I got a great old chest.

All in all, it was a busy and depressing week. The next time I go to the farm, I wont get to stay in the house I knew as a kid. The grandparents are long gone. I miss being a kid up there.

The uncle who is taking the farm house said if I ever wanted to come back he would leave the house. He may have said the same to my brother. If I could afford to live there, I still do not know if I would. It is such a beautiful place to visit, but it looks different when you are living there full time.

I need to get to work. I have a big day setting two fence posts. Got to get going on this project but I still do not have the hardware. A little frustrating, mostly because it was bad time management on my part.

Click for Lexington Park, Maryland Forecast

previous - next

- - Sunday, Jun. 08, 2008 - 10:59 a.m.

- - Monday, May. 12, 2008 - 6:28 a.m.

- - Thursday, Apr. 24, 2008 - 7:24 a.m.

- - Monday, Aug. 13, 2007 - 7:54 a.m.

- - Thursday, Aug. 02, 2007 - 8:03 a.m.

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com